Friday, July 8, 2016

Law of the River

The Colorado River is managed and operated under numerous compacts, federal laws, court decisions and decrees, contracts, and regulatory guidelines collectively known as "The Law of the River." The Colorado River Compact of 1922 is an agreement among the seven states  of the Colorado River basin  that governs the allocation of water rights to the Colorado River. Colorado, Wyoming, Nevada, Utah, Arizona and California states governing the allocation of the water rights to the Colorado River. The states are divided in to upper and lower basin states. Arizona is the only state to receive an water allocation as both and upper and lower basin state. 

Connie is from the state of Arizona. She was visiting Breckenridge for WAVE festival. As a Colorado River water recipient, she was excited to see the Blue River, a tributary to the Colorado, flow through the heart of Breck.